What is an Administrative Law Suspension Hearing? (ALS)
Under Georgia’s implied consent laws if you are arrested for DUI and you refuse to submit to a chemical test, then your privilege to drive may be suspended for up to one year.
You do have the right to request an Administrative License Suspension Hearing through the State Office of Administrative Hearings .
To request the hearing you must submit a formal request along with a filing fee of $150.00 within 10 days of the date you were arrested. Once the request has been submitted, you will be given the temporary ability to drive while you are awaiting your hearing date.
Under South Carolina law, if you are pulled if you are arrested for DUI, then you have the ability to apply for a temporary alcohol restricted license (TARL). When you are arrested, the Officer will provide you with a Notice of Suspension at the same time that he or she confiscates your driver’s license.
The Notice of Suspension will contain a blue form that informs you of having a suspended license. You will have 30 days to send a request for a hearing along with a $200 administrative fee to the SC Office of Motor Vehicle Hearings within 30 days of your arrest.
The hearing allows our firm to fight to keep your privilege to drive. If we are successful at the hearing, then your license will not be suspended pending the resolution of your case in the criminal courts.
If your license has been suspended as a result of Georgia or South Carolina’s implied consent laws, contact Bell & Brigham and allow us to fight for you.