Aggressive DUI Attorneys Protect Your Rights
Lawyers defending Georgia & South Carolina-area clients against criminal prosecution
Throughout Georgia & South Carolina, law enforcement officials have been expanding efforts to crack down on drunk driving offenses. Being convicted of operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated can have serious consequences, including loss of license, higher insurance costs, heavy fines and jail time. You only have a certain number of days to protect your driving privileges before they are taken away by the state. The trial lawyers at Bell & Brigham have the knowledge necessary to overcome the evidence against you, and the tenacity to help you attain the best possible outcome.
Advocates committed to confronting drunk driving charges
Our attorneys understand that good people can make mistakes. We strive to satisfy our clients’ emotional, financial and legal needs by zealously representing your interests at every turn. We are knowledgeable about complex Georgia DUI laws, and analyze every aspect of the prosecution’s case, from the initial traffic stop to Breathalyzer tests, to build you a strong defense. We know what the prosecution needs to get a conviction because we are former DUI Prosecutors. Our DUI attorneys work hard to make sure that you get the respect you deserve and the results you desire.
GEORGIA DUI PENALTIES
For a 1st offense DUI conviction in Georgia, you can expect:
- A fine of $300- $1,000.
- Jail time of a minimum of 10 days.
- 40 hours of community service
- Completion of an alcohol or drug abuse class, also called Risk Reduction Program.
- Probation of up to one year.
- One years’ driver’s license suspension.
For a 2nd offense DUI conviction in Georgia, you can expect:
- A fine of $600- $1,000.
- A drug and alcohol evaluation to determine if a treatment program is necessary.
- Your photo will be published in the local newspaper as a DUI offender for $25.
- An ignition interlock installed on any vehicle you own.
SOUTH CAROLINA DUI PENALTIES
For a first time DUI, your license may be suspended for 6 months. A second DUI offense may result in your license being suspended for 1 year. A third DUI offense can result in your license being suspended for 2 years. However, that suspension can be increased to 4 years if your conviction happens within 5 years of your first offense. You DUI will be elevated to a felony with permanent license revocation upon your fourth or subsequent DUI. It is possible to qualify for a restricted provisional license; however, to be eligible, you must meet certain requirements.
Losing your ability to drive can have consequences in other areas of your life as well, especially if you are unable to qualify for a provisional or restricted license. Without a driver’s license it will be difficult to get to work or school, or even the grocery store.
Contact us today for a consultation.
If you have been arrested for DUI, you need an aggressive attorney to help you win. Call Bell & Brigham today at 706-722-2014 or contact us online to set up a consultation at our Augusta, Georgia office.